Consortium Advisory Member:

Dr. Charles Weatherford
Jones Hall Physics Department  

Contact Info:
Martin Luther King Boulevard South
Tallahassee, Fl 32307
PH: (850) 599-3767
FAX:(850) 599-3557
University Website:

Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, founded on October 3, 1887, as the State Normal College for Colored Students, began classes with fifteen students and two instructors. Its destiny – to become an institution of higher learning, striving toward even greater heights of academic excellence. Today, Florida A&M University is one of nine institutions in Florida ‘s State University System, and excellence – “excellence with caring” – remains its goal.

The main campus is spread over 419 acres located on the highest of seven hills in Tallahassee, the capital of Florida. The total assets of the University are valued over $190 million dollars. The campus is comprised of 131 buildings and has a current operating budget of over $210,000,000. Florida A&M University student enrollment population consists primarily of undergraduates (students enrolled at the lower division). As of Fall 1997, Florida A&M University offered 108 undergraduate degrees in 64 undergraduate programs and 60 graduate degrees in 32 graduate programs (includes 1 professional and 7 doctoral degrees) within its 12 Schools and Colleges.
The doctor of philosophy is offered in the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Education and FAMU/FSU College of Engineering.